My take on Windows 8

I upgraded my laptop from Windows 7 to Windows 8 a few months ago now so thought that it was time I should write a blog on it and what I think about it.

My colleague (and husband!) has been using it for a lot longer than me, as our business are Microsoft Partners we get access to new software sooner than others so he upgraded as soon as he could.

It took a little while for me to get used to the new tiled interface, but I really like it, it’s useful to have instant access to commonly used applications, but I can still use the familiar desktop as well. Although designed for use as a touchscreen interface, I haven’t had any troubles using the mouse with my laptop to access the menus etc. There isn’t a familiar ‘Start’ button as such, but with after learning some keyboard shortcuts or where to place my mouse it’s not difficult to find what I need.

I really like the interface and since upgrading my laptop seems to have been booting up faster, which is a great bonus when you’re impatient like me! I like the fact that I can link everything I use with my Microsoft Account, this includes Office 365 which we are now using here in the office and on the move.

Overall, after initial reluctance I’m really pleased that I upgraded and can’t wait until later this year when (hopefully) I can upgrade my mobile phone to a Windows Phone and sync everything together.

To find out more about Office 365 and for a free trial please visit our website, and to find find out more about Windows 8 take a look here.

