Networking with a difference

Venus Awards Devon 2013

I was very pleased to be invited to the launch of the Venus Devon Awards yesterday evening at the Sapphire Living Space nr. Topsham. It was very well attended, but there were some differences to the usual networking that I attend.

Drinks were available on arrival (Cranberry juice for me, I was driving!) and there was the usual mingle of guests getting to know each other and there businesses.  At previous networking events that I’ve been to the canapes were served by by waiters, but at this event we were able to watch the chef prepare and cook our canapes and chat to him while he was working. There was a lovely selection including Brioche with sun-dried tomato, foccacia and chicken satay. Unfortunately I missed out on the roast beef, but it looked delicious. The chef explained how to cut the chicken and use every last scrap. Well, I didn’t expect to come back from a networking event having learnt that! Also on offer were free sample massages from Therapy South West, I didn’t partake of this though, although those that did seemed to enjoy it. There were also delicious mini cakes, the eclairs were gorgeous and a lady from Choccie Bar offering samples and selling her hand painted chocolates.

The main focus of the evening was the launch of the nominations of the Venus Devon Awards, and we were encouraged to nominate on the night via iPads that were available for this purpose. I opened my email this morning to find someone had nominated me for business mother of the year – wow.

All in all it was a very enjoyable evening, getting to know some new people and catching up with some old friends. Having different things available was really interesting as it was something else to discuss with the other attendees other than work 🙂

Follow @WomensAwards on Twitter

Find Venus Awards Devon on Facebook

