Superfast Broadband – Where and When?

I’ve just been reading an article published on computerweekly.com regarding the Government’s Broadband Delivery UK ¬†project (BDUK). It made interesting reading as there was a link to a map of Devon and Somerset showing where superfast broadband is available, where it will be available, exchanges that they are evaluating etc. I checked my exchange (Chulmleigh) and it’s still at the ‘Blue’ evaluation stage, which seems to be the case for most of Devon and Somerset. I’m not holding out much hope that we’ll get superfast broadband here, but I wonder whether the providers take into account the number of businesses in rural locations as well as towns and cities that would benefit from this service?

Just out of interest whilst writing this blog I thought I would do a speed test, and here are the results:

Broadband speed test

 

 

