Still learning – I am

I’ve spent a lot of today starting a new course to learn about HTML 5 and CSS3. This will hopefully enable me to start helping out more on the website development side of the business. At the moment all of the development work is done by Richard, and I want to learn how to do the basics so that I can make minor changes to website templates that I need to ask him to do at the moment.

I already know a little HTML, but need to know a lot more complex things to achieve what I want to do, so that’s why I am setting off on this learning journey.

I’ve installed the software that I need, Visual Studio for Web Express 2012, and included in the installation was a link to a series of tutorial videos that I have started to watch. These videos are great as they take you step by step in formatting the web page and also encourage you to do as the instructor does as you go along. It’s called active learning. So far I’m really enjoying the lessons I’ve done, it’s great to see the results of your efforts at the end of the session. I think it may take me a while to complete them all, but it will be worth it in the end, I will have learnt a new skill that I can take with me as I continue my work.

 

